Bad Brains Mixed Punk with a Positive Mental Attitude

Longreads

Marking their progression was 1983’s Rock for Light, the band’s second album, produced by Cars frontman Rick Ocasek. “He used to listen to the ROIR cassette on tour to hide himself up to go out and play,” muses [Bad Brains bassist Darryl] Jenifer. “You would never think that this cat would listen to the ROIR cassette to get energy going so he could go out and play some pop!” Nevertheless, Ocasek took a shine to the group, buying them gear, giving me the amps, and taking them into the studio to record their follow-up to their explosive debut.

“When we first came out, [punk] was kind of on some vulgar shit,” recalls Jenifer. “We started kicking PMA in our music, and the message was different than the regular punk rock. You know, a punk rocker can write a song about hate─I hate my mom or some shit, you know?…

View original post 120 more words

About Abeltje Quintijn

Dear Readers, fan's, lovers, etc... Strange path of my live... Wanna be me, it has to be me, I am wanna be... If you undertand what I am talking about... Don't foget it's not 'The Ego', the false self, it's real me. Good luck all my brother, sisters, etc... Keep this planet as long as possible alive. Thanking you all. Loving you
This entry was posted in acht. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

