The Origami Labyrinth (Part Three of Three)

“Are microfilms the worst technology ever invented?” If it’s made out of plastic… …personally I am not against microchips, also (kind off) plastic.

Will Pooley

Are microfilms the worst technology ever invented? The idea was to scan documents onto negatives, which could then be read with a machine that looks like a cross between something you’d find in a hair salon and something from the bridge of the Starship Enterprise. During my doctorate I spent 11 months using one of these machines for eight hours a day. I got pretty good at zooming through the reels to exactly the spot I wanted, guessing what order the poor soul who had created the microfilm had chosen to put the documents on.

But on this trip I was faced with one of the perversities of archival preservation. Rather than a vintage machine, I read the newspaper reports I ordered on a computer, hooked up to a negative scanner. It does not whizz through the roll of film as quickly as the old Captain Kirk. If I knock…

View original post 961 more words

About Abeltje Quintijn

Dear Readers, fan's, lovers, etc... Strange path of my live... Wanna be me, it has to be me, I am wanna be... If you undertand what I am talking about... Don't foget it's not 'The Ego', the false self, it's real me. Good luck all my brother, sisters, etc... Keep this planet as long as possible alive. Thanking you all. Loving you
This entry was posted in acht. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

